Laurel Canyon Music

Promotion * Support * Innovation * Community

Folk, Americana, Country, Blues, Singer-Songwriter, Roots & Acoustic music.  LCM is a new co-operative music community and on-line magazine to promote & support the music that we love. 

We aim to help music fans connect and discover great new music and help indie musicians promote their music and help them build relationships with supporters and industry professionals.

No. 79 - Gareth Dunlop (11/08/17)

  • Artist: Gareth Dunlop
  • Release Date: 11th August, 2017
  • Genre: Singer-Songwriter, Folk
  • Record Label: Priory Records
  • Tracks: 10
  • Website:

Gareth Dunlop's new album 'No.79' was recorded at his home in East Belfast, Northern Ireland.

“We moved into our house in Belfast about 3 years ago. Spending months at a time away from the house, it just felt right to make this record in my own home. As well as it being somewhere I’m most comfortable, it just has a cool vibe and sound to it, and I wanted to capture that. Something different happens when the studio comes to the musicians… it forces you to approach things differently and think outside of the box. The songs we recorded were all written in the months leading up to the session and I think the emotions of the songs were very much still on the forefront of my mind.”

There are limitations to recording in a house and I wanted to use those restraints as an opportunity to be more creative. It made us all use our instruments in a different way… because we didn’t have a string quartet, we taped up the strings on my old piano to emulate a string part on ‘What It Wants’. That was the story for most days... If we didn’t have it, we had to make it. I spent a couple of weeks driving my family crazy getting the house ready and sound treating the rooms. It wasn’t until we recorded the first take of the first song that I knew it would work. Having great musicians and great friends in my home made the process of recording these songs so much more enjoyable.”          

No. 79
Priory Records

Mind Of Mine EP - Lisa Wright (25/05/18)

  • Artist: Lisa Wright
  • Release Date: 25th May, 2018
  • Genre: Country, Singer-Songwriter
  • Record Label: Lisa Wright (Independent)
  • Tracks: 4
  • Website: 

One of the most exciting voices in the UK’s homegrown country/Americana scene, Lisa Wright, has announced the May 25th 2018 release of her brand new EP ‘Mind of Mine’. Produced by Matt Greaves (Ward Thomas, The Girls Musical), ‘Mind of Mine’ contains four brand new songs, and is Lisa’s most personal work to date. Lead single, ‘Tennessee’, co-written by Lisa with Kaity Rae and currently gaining airplay on country shows & stations across the UK, was inspired by her trip to the US in late 2017, reflecting the notorious ups and downs of the music industry and the search for purpose in life.

Two of the tracks were solely written by Lisa, with ‘Giving Up The Ghost’ penned in collaboration with Jake Etheridge, known for his starring role as Sean McPherson on CMT’s Nashville TV show, and having also lent his songwriting talents to the show’s soundtrack.

Combining Lisa's staple of honest and emotive lyrics with a new exploration of sound and style, it’s obvious that ‘Mind of Mine’ will showcase this young artist’s ability to continually re-create herself, while staying true to her roots. Having opened for US country star Cam earlier this month and with support dates with the likes of Ward Thomas & Phil Vassar under her belt, it’s easy to see why the Nashville Songwriters Association (NSAI) have declared Lisa Wright “one to watch”.

Mind of Mine
Lisa Wright

Talk Of This Town - Catherine McGrath (27/07/18)

'Talk Of This Town' is the eagerly awaiting debut album from young Irish born Country music star Catherine McGrath. 

Talk of This Town
Warner Bros.

Utopia & Wasteland - Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar (13/04/18)

It could be their pull-no-punches songwriting. It could be Russell's remarkable voice and Algar's distinctive, fluid fiddle. It could be their inventive takes on traditional songs, their unseen empathy, infectious tune sets or the way they tackle topical issues. Whatever it is, Greg Russell and Ciaran Algar have got it, making a huge impact from the first moment they emerged on the UK folk scene.

Still only 24 and 22, Greg and Ciaran released their first album The Queen's Lover in 2012 and enjoyed a remarkable rise, landing the Young Folk Award at the 2013 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. In 2014, they found themselves at the Royal Albert Hall clinching the Horizon Award and in 2015 they were nominated for Best Duo.

Drawing on a range of influences, Russell and Algar released their second album The Call in 2014 and, in 2016, the acclaimed The Silent Majority. Now with solo albums under their belts and performances in other line-ups (Algar with Sam Kelly's The Lost Boys and Russell in The Transports and his own multi-artist protest song project Shake the Chains) they are back. Utopia and Wasteland marks another milestone in their short but exceptional career. Recorded at The Green Room Studio, Devon, producer Mark Tucker adds percussion, bass and backing vocals to Greg's unmistakable voice and acoustic guitar and Ciaran's fiddle, tenor banjo, electric tenor guitar, bodhran and vocals. 9 of the 11 tracks are originals, marking a bold departure from their largely traditional back catalog

Utopia And Wasteland
By Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar

Freedom Singer - Khari Wendall McClelland (27/04/18)

  • Artist: Khari Wendall McClelland
  • Release Date:27th April, 2018
  • Genre: Folk, Americana, Gospel, Roots Music
  • Record Label: Afterlife Music
  • Tracks: 7
  • Website:

A modern-day interpretation of songs that have accompanied Khari´s great-great-great grandmother, who escaped US slavery through The Underground Railroad into Canada in the mid 1800s.

Khari Wendell McClelland is set to release the "Freedom Singer" album on April 27th. A true celebration of black history, the album is a collection of rare and forgotten songs that McClelland interprets through the many styles and genres that helped to shape him. Using folk, gospel, country, hip hop and soul to reinvigorate these songs and build a bridge from the 1800's to the present. Khari Wendell McClelland is a diversely talented and everevolving artist. Originally from Detroit, Khari has become a darling on the Canadian music scene with reviewers lauding his performances as a clever mix of soul and gospel. Khari’s songwriting crosses genres and generations, joyfully invoking the spirit of his ancestors who straddled the US-Canadian border in efforts to escape slavery and discrimination. His music draws from this rich history, integrating the rhythms and folklore of early African-Americans with contemporary sounds and stories of struggle. Recently, Khari received critical acclaim for his "Freedom Singer" project, recreating the music fugitive slaves carried on their journey north into Canada.

Inverse Alchemy - Rob Corcoran (01/12/17)

Rob Corcoran - Inverse Alchemy.jpg
  • Artist: Rob Corcoran & The Necessary Evils
  • Release Date: 1st December, 2017
  • Genre: Contemporary Folk, Americana, Singer-Songwriter
  • Record Label: Independent
  • Tracks: 12
  • Website:

"Heart-on-sleeve, alt-folk Americana with a Dublin accent" - the debut studio album by Dublin-born troubadour Rob Corcoran in the company of his alt-folk super-group 'The Necessary Evils' 

Copyright 2015-8 (C) Laurel Canyon Music




Powered by Squarespace