Laurel Canyon Music

For fans and musicians of Folk, Americana, Country, Blues, Singer-Songwriter, Rock, Roots & Acoustic and music from the Laurel Canyon late 60’s/early 70’s era.

LCM is a new co-operative music community, promoter, event organiser and on-line magazine to promote & support the music that we love. All the latest news, reviews and interviews

LCM is your indispensable insider guide to the wonderful world of independent music and beyond

We aim to help music fans connect and discover great new music and help indie musicians promote their music and help them build relationships with supporters and industry professionals.

Please join us now and explore our website.

We also have some special and exclusive items in our LCM store that you might like.


  • Genre: Alternative rock/pop, Singer-Songwriter
  • Location: London, UK
  • Discography: Slam The Brakes On EP (2015), Cheap Suit (2016), Nothing Of Nothing Much EP (2017), Live At St. Pancras Old Church (2017).
  • Record Label: Albert Man Music
  • Website:
  • Contact:
  • Booking agent:


Praised by BBC Radio Head of Music as a “brilliant singer-songwriter,” Albert Man is an “insightful artist to watch” according to Pledge Music’s managing editor Matt Conner. He has established himself as one of the more interesting songwriters on the London gig circuit with avid support from RockShot Magazine, who compared his songs to that of “Ben Folds in verse, wit and chord changes”. The award-winning, Manchester-born singer-songwriter plays both solo and with a full band, writing piano-led, melodic pop songs described by Fresh On The Net as “sweet piano led shenanigans that come over like the lovechild of Billy Joel and Adam Levine”.

He released a brand new six-track EP “Nothing Of Nothing Much”, recorded at Pete Townshend's barge studio, in early 2017 and has already received airplay on BBC Introducing London for his new single “I Feel Like Dancing” twice. The same song was chosen for Tom Robinson's Fresh Faves on his Fresh On The Net blog in the same week, which is now the third time Albert has been featured – “I Feel Like Dancing, is the result of a highly professional quality of songwriting that, given the publicity, would easily scale the charts.” – Benji Tranter (Fresh On The Net). The music video for this single was premiered with Gigslutz, who commented that the EP “flows with emotion-strewn melodies and a witty lyricism”.

Albert released his eleven-track, self-produced album Cheap Suit in 2016, receiving airplay on both FUBAR Radio and BBC radio. The album won the “Best Independent Album” award on the Alternative Friday blog in 2016 and was described as “a wonderful wonderful album” by BBC presenter Ady Dayman. Two songs from this album were also chosen for Tom Robinson's Fresh Faves.

Albert featured on Best Of British Unsigned as “One to watch” for 2017 saying they “love Albert's sound”. This was swiftly followed up with him being chosen as their featured artist of the day with presenter Matt Graveling saying “I think Albert Man could be in with a cheeky little shout for best unsigned male in next years Unsigned Music Awards 2017.”

He has been on London Live twice and BalconyTV, has played at The O2 Priority Lounge before Muse, The Verdi Room in The Royal Albert Hall, Sofar Sounds Liverpool, The Borderline supporting Hamsandwich, Ronnie Scott’s, Jimmy's Harvest Festival, The Half Moon Putney, The Barfly, The Garage, The Bedford, Hotel Café Royal, Servant Jazz Quarters, Night and Day in Manchester, The Grand Social in Dublin, Hard Rock Cafe's 45th birthday and was a finalist in the London Coffee Music Project.

He has recently returned from Dublin after taking part in the annual Dublin Bowie Festival where he played at multiple venues and shows including the last night of the festival, Bowie Raw, at the Grand Social as part of the line-up which included Bowie-collaborator Gerry Leonard.

Recorded at his recent sold-out EP launch on the 8th February, Albert is releasing his very first live album, the 11-track 'Live At St. Pancras Old Church' on May 19th. The album was recorded by our very own Alex Carson (Wooden Arms) and features Albert Man  (piano & lead vocals), Jim McGrother (guitar & backing vocals), Ally McDougal (drums & backing vocals), Matt Findlay ( bass) and Louize Carroll (backing vocals). The album is available now for pre-order on iTunes and is scheduled for a 19th of May 2017 release both digitally and on CD. Set to include songs from last years award-winning studio album “Cheap Suit” and the more recent “Nothing Of Nothing Much” the album will also feature the previously unreleased track “Groundhog Day” which is being offered as an instant gratification download with any iTunes pre-order. The energy and power of this live show captures a raw, dynamic sound and showcases a collection of Albert’s best songs to date enhanced by the amazing natural acoustics of the church.

Having been described as “one of the most genuine, hard working artists on the live music scene with a steely work ethic”, he demonstrates this by the frequency at which he performs so keep your eye on his upcoming gigs list ( to see when and where he’s playing next!


Copyright 2013-9 (C) Laurel Canyon Music




Powered by Squarespace