Laurel Canyon Music

For fans and musicians of Folk, Americana, Country, Blues, Singer-Songwriter, Rock, Roots & Acoustic and music from the Laurel Canyon late 60’s/early 70’s era.

LCM is a new co-operative music community, promoter, event organiser and on-line magazine to promote & support the music that we love. All the latest news, reviews and interviews

LCM is your indispensable insider guide to the wonderful world of independent music and beyond

We aim to help music fans connect and discover great new music and help indie musicians promote their music and help them build relationships with supporters and industry professionals.

Please join us now and explore our website.

We also have some special and exclusive items in our LCM store that you might like.



Amy Wadge - Walking Disaster EP.jpg
  • Artist: Amy Wadge
  • Release Date: 16th February, 2018
  • Genre: Country, Americana, Singer-Songwriter
  • Record Label: Cold Coffee Music Limited
  • Tracks: 6
  • Website:
  • Review By: Gary Smith (LCM)


The last time I spoke to Amy she was performing at a double headline gig in Stanley Halls in London with Luke Jackson. She talked about a forthcoming songwriting and recording trip to Nashville and her recently released EP 'Walking Disaster' is the wonderful result of the trip stateside. The EP features songwriting contributions from Dee Adams and Emily Weisband, as well as guest appearances from Dan Tyminski (Union Station), Lori McKenna and Emily Strayer & Martie Mcguire (The Dixie Chicks). 

The multi-award winning and double Grammy winner Amy, is one of the UK’s most prolific contemporary songwriters. She has accumulated numerous cuts and has co-written both for and with established and emerging artists alike including Janelle Monáe, Keith Urban, James Blunt, Ella Henderson, Labrinth, Niall Horan, Ben Haenow, Jamie Lawson, Birdy, Marlon Roudette, Mahalia, Jasmine Thompson, Dua Lipa, Zak Abel, Jason Mraz,Jessie Ware, Joel Adams, Rebecca Ferguson, Aquilo, Ms. Dynamite, Anne Marie, LeAnn Rimes, Shannon Saunders, Una Foden, The Shires, Max George, Lewis Watson and many more. Amy’s most notable success to date comes from her long established writing partnership with Ed Sheeran.

This high quality mini-album opens with the Dixie Chicks flavoured title track 'Walking Disaster' where Amy is joined by Marty and Emily from the band. With it's lovely underpinning banjo licks and hand claps this is a real toe tapper "I'm not a fighter, I'm not a lover either and I am a little afraid to punch above my weight so stay down just in case, and try and win you over with a little are going to see me coming.... a walking disaster".  The reflective and autobiographical mood continues with the beautiful 'River' with gentle picked banjo, pedal steel and fiddle interplay. I love the lyrics in the song and the wonderful word pictures and feel that Amy creates especially in the chorus. "Sometimes life gets in the way of the plans that you are making and then suddenly everything is changing". Encouraging taking chances in love & life and not just playing it safe 'Live Or Die Love' is another classic song in the making. The smoky, sultry and infectious 'Bad For Lovin' You' could easy be set in the steamy Deep South. "I know you got demons, but I'll deal with them in time". Reflecting on their early magic moments and life in music 'When We Had Nothing' features the very talented Lori McKenna, one of Nashville’s most in-demand country songwriters. 'Back when we were dreamers...back when we were something...back when we had nothing'. It's is always a joy to listen to Dan Tyminski and on the beautiful ballad 'Thank Heaven I'm Healing', his warm and rich vocals perfectly complement Amy's. This road to redemption love song with it's positive outlook is one of my favorites on the EP.  "Every time I let the pain back in. I feel the sting...I'will live with the feeling........and thank heaven I'm healing....I'm starting to get stronger".






Copyright 2013-9 (C) Laurel Canyon Music




Powered by Squarespace