Laurel Canyon Music

For fans and musicians of Folk, Americana, Country, Blues, Singer-Songwriter, Rock, Roots & Acoustic and music from the Laurel Canyon late 60’s/early 70’s era.

LCM is a new co-operative music community, promoter, event organiser and on-line magazine to promote & support the music that we love. All the latest news, reviews and interviews

LCM is your indispensable insider guide to the wonderful world of independent music and beyond

We aim to help music fans connect and discover great new music and help indie musicians promote their music and help them build relationships with supporters and industry professionals.

Please join us now and explore our website.

We also have some special and exclusive items in our LCM store that you might like.

Show Of Hands - Battlefield Dance Floor (27/09/19)

Show of Hands - BDF.jpg
  • Artist: Show Of Hands

  • Release Date: 27th September, 2019

  • Genre: Folk, Roots

  • Record Label: Proper Records

  • Tracks: 13

  • Website: https://www.showofhands.co.uk

With its arresting cover of a felled marionette, Battlefield Dance Floor is the 18th studio album from one of the most prized acts on the folk roots circuit.

Show of Hands' first key release in more than three years, the 13-track album brings eight keenly awaited new songs (and a co-write) from the pen of Steve Knightley, widely acknowledged as one of the country's most inspired and original songwriters.

Possibly their most commercial release to date, Battlefield Dance Floor is an exuberant, lush, full-blooded album co-produced by the in-demand Mark Tucker and Knightley - Show of Hands' first release since 2016's The Long Way Home.

A classy cornucopia, it's an album that successfully melds vintage Show of Hands and brand new material, infusing influences old and new and this time - as a four strong band - with even greater depth and panache.

Says Steve: "With the heartbeat and harmonies that Cormac and Miranda add, we are at last creating a sound we've dreamed of making for twenty five years!"

PLEASE PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY BELOW >>>

Tanya Tucker - While I'm Livin' (23/08/19)

  • Artist: Tanya Tucker

  • Release Date: 23rd August, 2019

  • Genre: Country, Americana

  • Record Label: Concord Records

  • Tracks: 10

  • Website: https://www.tanyatucker.com

Tanya Tucker’s first album in 17 years which signals the return of this country music icon. This album is a musical biography of sorts narrated by the greatest country and western singer this side of Johnny Cash.

Please order your copy below >>>

Wildwood Kin - Wildwood Kin (04/10/19)

Wildwood Kin - Wildwood Kin.jpg
  • Artist: Wildwood Kin

  • Release Date: 4th October, 2019

  • Genre: Indie-Folk, Americana

  • Tracks: 10

  • Record Label: Silvertone

  • Website:

Wildwood Kin is the self-titled second studio album from the West Country trio, sisters Emillie and Beth and their cousin Meghann. Self-titled because it captures the band’s artistic vision so completely, the most striking thing about the album is just how natural it sounds. The voices of three young women harmonise effortlessly - there are shades of Simon & Garfunkel, Rumours-era Fleetwood Mac, and the churchy cadences of the first Fleet Foxes album in the beautifully gentle folk rock melodies. Lyrics address profound themes like love, loss and spirituality in an unforced fashion. Above all, there is a spirit to the record that is as wild and free as the moors that Wildwood Kin grew up on. Produced by Ian Grimble (Bear’s Den, Catfish & The Bottlemen, Viola Beach, Daughter), the album features a number of co-writes from sessions in Los Angeles, Nashville and Oxfordshire, including Gabrielle Aplin, Angelo Petraglia (Taylor Swift, Lissie, Kings of Leon), and Alex Davies (Sigrid, Birdy, Kodaline). Lead single, ‘Never Alone’ was written with and produced by Ed Harcourt. The album is a beautifully reflective body of work, characterised by the band’s distinctive harmonies, evergreen folk rock melodies, and moments of riotous energy.

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Chosen Daughter - Maz O'Connor (25/10/19)

Maz O'Connor - Chosen Daughter.jpg
  • Artist: Maz O’Connor

  • Release Date: 25th October, 2019

  • Genre: Folk, Singer-Songwriter

  • Record Label: Restless Head Records

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website:

Singer and songwriter Maz O'Connor has been described by The Guardian as 'one of folk's brightest young talents'. Now based in London, her Irish roots strongly influence her lyrical story-songs, and her pure, clear singing style. After releasing three albums, being nominated for the BBC Radio 2 Folk Award Horizon Award twice, and performing at major festivals including The Cambridge Folk Festival, WOMAD and Glastonbury; Maz has spent three years writing and recording her latest album, 'Chosen Daughter', which explores the stories of her foremothers, and will be released in the Autumn of 2019.

'Maz O'Connor's ace, apart from her remarkable songwriting talent, is her captivating voice ****' (Q Magazine)

'There is an inquiring intelligence as well as an emotional sensibility at work here...she plays and sings beautifully *****' (Songlines)

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Country Squire - Tyler Childers (02/08/19)

  • Artist: Tyler Childers

  • Release Date: 2nd August, 2019

  • Genre: Country, Americana, Folk

  • Record Label: RCA

  • Tracks: 9

  • Website:

‘Country Squire’ is the eagerly awaited follow-up to ‘Purgatory’ and the third album from Kentucky country singer-songwriter Tyler Childers. It’s full of rough-hewn honky-tonk and Americana along with great observations on Southern life. We love the attention to detail and his wonderful ability to draw you into the song.

Tyler is rapidly gaining the recognition that he richly deserves. Not two years ago, he was another unknown wave of excellent country artists coming out of Kentucky. Born in Lawrence County and raised in Paintsville, he gigged around the area for years, eventually roping Johnny Cash’s engineer David Ferguson and friend/fellow Kentuckian Sturgill Simpson to produce his last album ‘Purgatory’. That album found an immediate fanbase, racked up startling streaming numbers and soon Tyler was opening for John Prine on the road and Margo Price at the Ryman.

Have a listen and let us know what you think?

Please order your copy below >>>

Lewis Capaldi - Divinely Uninspired To A Hellish Extent (17/05/19)

Lewis Capaldi - DUTAHE.jpg
  • Artist: Lewis Capaldi

  • Release Date: 17th May, 2019

  • Genre: Rock, Pop, Singer-Songwriter

  • Record Label: Virgin

  • Tracks: 12

  • Website:

2018 was a truly remarkable year for budding Scottish artist Lewis Capaldi, going from years of playing in local pubs around Scotland to selling 75,000 headline show tickets on 3 sold out back-to-back headline tours and being handpicked to support Sam Smith, Bastille, Rag’n’ Bone Man & Niall Horan. He quickly amassed 300 million plays on his 9 released tracks across streaming services & eventually entered the top 40 with Grace, featuring an unforgettable video of Lewis and some topless men! Critical support also came in it’s droves as he was shortlisted for the BRITs Critic’s Choice award, longlisted for BBC’s Sound of 2018 and added to Radio 1’s covetable Brit List.

2019 looks set to catapult him into the stratosphere with the announce of his long-anticipated debut album ‘Divinely Uninspired To A Hellish Extent’ following Someone You Loved becoming his first ever top 10 single, and Grace and Bruises also in the Top 100 UK Singles Chart. He has won over swarms of fans with his trademark down-to-earth sense of humour juxtaposed with his sincere, heartwrenching vocal.

Order your copy below >>>

Midland - Let It Roll (23/08/19)

Midland - Let It Roll.jpg
  • Artist: Midland

  • Release Date: 23rd August, 2019

  • Genre: Country, Country Rock, Americana

  • Record Label: Big Machine Records

  • Tracks:

  • Website: https://www.midlandofficial.com

‘Let It Roll’ is the excellent second album from Austin based Country Rock trio Midland. One thing that really stands out on the album is its wonderful production quality coupled with retro style Eagle’s harmonies and well written songs with memorable hooks.

Midland hark back to to the days of real Country Rock music and they have a great time doing it. Their songs are infectious and the trio ooze’s charisma. Penned by Jess Carson the opener and title track ‘Let It Roll’ puts their harmonies to the fore while providing an earworm melody. The rockier ‘21st Century Honky Tonk American Band’ moves them in a new direction. and is one of the highlights on the record.

As with their debut album ‘On the Rocks’, ‘Let It Roll’ showcases Midland’s versatility and strengths. The sumptuous ‘Cheatin’ Songs’ reference a trope of the Country music genre and it sounds wonderful. One of my favourite tracks ‘‘Put the Hurt On Me’ proves that the band are adept at stirring ballads as they are uptempo jams. Mark Wystrach’s vocal is so good on the track, showing a little more soul than we’ve heard in the past.

Elsewhere on the record the breezy ‘I Love You, Goodbye’ is destined to become a live favourite, ‘Cheatin’ By the Rules’ sounds like a lost gem from the golden age of Country music, and ‘Playboys’ pretty much sums up the band’s work hard, play hard ethos. Cameron Duddy takes the lead vocals on the dreamy ‘Lost in the Night’ while Jess Carson gets a chance to shine on album closer ‘Roll Away..

Another of my favourites on the album is ‘Every Song’s a Drinkin’ Song’ is almost the follow up to the bands breakthrough hit ‘Drinkin’ Problem’. The vocals are on point, the instrumentation is perfect, the harmonies are excellent and the bands personality drips from every single lyric.

Order your copy below >>>

The Highwomen - The Highwomen (06/09/19)

  • Artist: The Highwomen (Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, Natalie Hemby and Amanda Shires + special guests)

  • Release Date: 6th September, 2019

  • Genre: Country, Americana

  • Record Label: Low Country Sound / Elektra Records

  • Tracks: 12

  • Website: https://thehighwomen.com

Featuring some of the cream of US female singer-songwriters, the Highwomen feature Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, Natalie Hemby and Amanda Shires plus a host of special guests. The album is produced by the excellent Dave Cobb. Don’t be surprised if this album features in a lot of Country award lists in the future. Highly recommended

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Zervas And Pepper - Endless Road Restless Nomad (26/07/19)

Z+P - Endless Road Restless Mind.jpg
  • Artist: Zervas & Pepper

  • Release Date: 26th July, 2019

  • Genre: Americana, Folk-Rock, Laurel Canyon

  • Record Label: Zerodeo Records

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website: https://zervasandpepper.com

Zervas and Pepper are songwriters that have been crafting songs and capturing imaginations with their previous critically acclaimed albums 'Lifebringer , 'Abstract Heart', Wilderland'. 2019 brings a fresh offering, an album that finds a band that have honed their sound on the road, songwriters that continue to mine the depths of their creative pairing.. Zervas and Pepper's sounds have made their way across the National airwaves of both UK and Europe. Appearing as guests and in-session for flagship National Radio BBC shows such as BBC 6music's Lauren Laverne, Radclife and Maconie, Tom Robinson and many more.

Singer Kathryn Pepper says' Endless Road, Restless Nomad was written whilst touring through Europe. A life spent passing through, .looking back, shared moments and endless roads. The album title taken from the two songs on the album that express exactly that, 'Endless Road' and 'Restless Nomad . 'There is Only Love' is a reaction to the intense period of negativity in the press and social media. Kathryn Pepper explains We wanted to bring the free-spirited feeling we get on the road into the music, touring puts us in a bubble, away from the 24 news landscape we live in back home Paul Zervas adds.. We were looking to capture a sense of late's 1960's hippie optimism, drawing from an era of music that offered hope in troubled times . Listen in for summer of love inspired 12 string electric guitars, harmony-drenched message of love. 'Gas Bottle Blue' finds the pair exploring opportunities missed, ..the roller coaster ride of chasing down your dreams while album opener 'The Gift' offers the gift of courage and the new hope.. The gift you gave to me from the seventh son, ..reckless abandon.. child on the run .

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Sheryl Crow - Threads (30/08/19)

Sheryl Crow - Threads.jpg

Artist: Sheryl Crow

Release Date: 30th August, 2019

Genre: Rock, Pop

Record Label: Big Machine Records

Tracks: 17

Website: https://sherylcrow.com

Nine-time GRAMMY Award-winner Sheryl Crow’s forthcoming album of collaborations, ‘THREADS’ is set for release on August 30th via The Valory Music Co. Sheryl comments “’Still The Good Old Days’ totally captures what Joe and I believe about getting older…that life is still fun no matter what stage of life you are at, and that living isn’t just for the young.”

Other advance tracks already setting the pace for this diverse collection include “Redemption Day” featuring Johnny Cash, “Live Wire” featuring Bonnie Raitt and Mavis Staples and “Prove You Wrong” featuring Stevie Nicks and Maren Morris.

Further elaborating on the project, Sheryl reflected, “I became inspired to record an album of musical experiences with the legacy artists who inspired me to want to be a great songwriter, musician, and producer. It is a celebration with them, and a tribute to them. Just as importantly, I wanted to work with younger artists on this record, who I believe will pick up the torch and continue to light the way for humanity with their stories and their songs for many years to come. Their music inspires me every day.”

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Morganway - Morganway (02/08/19)

  • Artist: Morganway

  • Release Date: 2nd August, 2019

  • Genre: Americana, Folk Rock

  • Record Company: Morganway / UE-Records

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website: www.morganway.co.uk

Morganway was founded in 2016 by twin brothers Callum (vocals/bass) and Kieran Morgan (lead guitar), and genre-defying keyboard player Matt Brocklehurst. Their numbers quickly grew as their sound developed, with singer SJ Mortimer, whose growling vocals were a perfect complement to the Morgan brothers gritty guitar work, and fiddle player Nicole J Terry joining the ranks. On the choice of adding another lead instrument to the band, Callum explained that, "both Kieran and Nicole have very individual playing styles, and that combination allows their instruments to play off one another in quite distinctive ways, sometimes harmonising or in total contrast." The last member to officially join was drummer Ed Bullinger, whose diverse playing adds an urgent, yet tactful texture to the fray.

Inspired by the likes of Bruce Springsteen, Fleetwood Mac and other classic guitar bands such as The Eagles, Morganway have quickly built a name for themselves on the UK live circuit. They have already received accolades from Radio 2's 'Whispering' Bob Harris, swathes of recognition from the country press, two nominations from the BCMA awards, support slots with The Shires and an Under The Apple Tree session. Peppered within their classic rock influences are aspects of country, Americana, pop and even bits of indie. Their ability to dance around genres yet keep a cohesive sound has been one of the principal reasons Morganway have such a captivating live show.

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Ben Walker - Echo (05/07/19)

  • Artist: Ben Walker

  • Release Date: 5th July 2019

  • Genre: Folk, Singer-songwriter

  • Record Label: Folkroom Records

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website: https://www.benwalkermusic.com/

Ben Walker was recently hailed as one of the best acoustic guitarists in the world right now by Total Guitar magazine. A versatile composer as well as a celebrated instrumentalist, his passion is putting old jewels in new settings. After six critically acclaimed albums and a BBC Folk Award as a duo with Josienne Clarke and more than fifty records as a producer of other artists, Ben Walker's signature style has been sought out from punk to Proms, from Rough Trade to the Royal Shakespeare Company.

If you’re after more of his virtuosity on six strings, there’s ample evidence, but Echo is also a gentle reminder of why, with Ben Walker, ‘guitarist’ can never quite say it all.

In divided times, Echo reflects centuries-old words back to us for today, reimagined in new music. Drawing on field recordings from the EFDSS library, the newly established Sussex Tradition archive and lyrics from the 18th and 19th centuries, with composition influenced by contemporary classical and electronic music and Ben’s trademark fingerstyle, Echo combines original instrumental pieces, traditional songs and poems set to music.

The album features an enviable list of guest vocalists, with Kitty Macfarlane, Laura Hockenhull, fellow Folk Award winners Bella Hardy and Hazel Askew and rising stars Thom Ashworth, Laura Ward (Hickory Signals/Bird in the Belly) and JinnWoo (Bird in the Belly) lending their voices to the project.

As Ben says: ‘Making this album has felt a bit like a treasure hunt – finding lost pieces in Cecil Sharp House, going out with a field recorder to listen properly to where I am, digging back into a place name. The more I looked, the more I found – long-lost ballads and poems written as songs but hardly ever sung. I could hear the echoes of times that felt like ours, when people were having to think again about the national identity, about inequality, and how technology was changing things. People love to hark back to the good old days but the truth is it’s never been simple. Running underneath it all, some of the words we still use for rivers and suchlike are literally thousands of years old.

Sometimes a tune says all that needs to be said, but I felt like these old words held a lot we’d recognise too. It’s been awesome and a bit humbling to have so many amazing artists and friends keen to help me bring this project to life. I can’t thank them enough. Occasionally the only singer for a song is still the old chap who sang it in a pub eighty years ago, but then a young singer picks up something three hundred years old and it hits you like a brick.

There’s a touch of hauntology to it all – the shadows of the past are always there in the future, whether we like it or not. Weirdly, I’ve found a little solace in the fact that some things come and go, and some things stay.’

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Jamestown Revival - San Isabel (14/06/19)

Jamestown Revival - San Isabel.jpg
  • Artist: Jamestown Revival

  • Release Date: 14th June. 2019

  • Genre: Americana, Folk, Country

  • Record label: Jamestown Revival Recordings

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website: https://jamestownrevival.com

After meeting as teenagers in the small town of Magnolia, TX, Clay and Chance went on to self-release their debut album, Utah, in 2014 followed by their acclaimed 2016 album, The Education of a Wandering Man. Of the Austin-based pair, Consequence of Sound declares, "...one of the country's preeminent Americana duos," while CMT praises, "...an eclectic style of alt country for hearts who live to ramble." Building a fan base through grassroots support, Jamestown Revival has toured relentlessly over the past four years, performing at iconic venues from the Ryman Auditorium to Red Rocks Amphitheater as well as countless festivals such as Coachella, Austin City Limits, Stagecoach, and more.

Highly Recommended

Pre-order your copy below >>>

High Romance - Emily Mae Winters (19/07/19)

Emily Mae Winters - High Romance.jpg

Artist: Emily Mae Winters

Release Date: 19th July, 2019

Genre: Americana, Folk, Singer-Songwriter

Record Label: Emily Mae Winters

Tracks: 11

Website:

Fast rising star on the U.K. Folk/Americana scene Emily Mae Winters has that rare quality in a singer that makes critics reach for the superlatives. Described as having a voice that "stops you in your tracks" and "arresting, enthralling, tantalising" by Americana UK, Emily combines straight-to-the-heart bittersweetness with her own unique passion and drama in performance. Emily Mae Winters' exquisite songs sit between the stormy seas of folk and country influenced by artists such as Gillian Welch, Emmylou Harris, Gretchen Peters, Alison Krauss and Sarah Jarosz. Born in England, raised on the rugged coasts of Ireland, her debut album Siren Serenade produced by BBC Radio 2 award winning producer Ben Walker was released to critical acclaim earning her a host of awards. The record received widespread U.K. radio play including plays on BBC Radio 2, as well as international Folk and Americana radio.

To quote Emily: "In one of my favourite poems by the English romantic poet John Keats: 'When I Have Fears', he looks up at the night sky as his dying day approaches and sees 'Huge cloudy symbols of a high romance'. He worries that he and his pen will not live long enough to trace them all. I've always been a 'hopeless romantic' but I think the older I get, the more the meaning of that phrase changes for me."

Please order your copy below >>>>

Copyright 2013-9 (C) Laurel Canyon Music

 

 

 

Powered by Squarespace