Laurel Canyon Music

For fans and musicians of Folk, Americana, Country, Blues, Singer-Songwriter, Rock, Roots & Acoustic and music from the Laurel Canyon late 60’s/early 70’s era.

LCM is a new co-operative music community, promoter, event organiser and on-line magazine to promote & support the music that we love. All the latest news, reviews and interviews

LCM is your indispensable insider guide to the wonderful world of independent music and beyond

We aim to help music fans connect and discover great new music and help indie musicians promote their music and help them build relationships with supporters and industry professionals.

Please join us now and explore our website.

We also have some special and exclusive items in our LCM store that you might like.

Zervas And Pepper - Endless Road Restless Nomad (26/07/19)

Z+P - Endless Road Restless Mind.jpg
  • Artist: Zervas & Pepper

  • Release Date: 26th July, 2019

  • Genre: Americana, Folk-Rock, Laurel Canyon

  • Record Label: Zerodeo Records

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website:

Zervas Pepper are songwriters that have been crafting songs and capturing imaginations with their previous critically acclaimed albums 'Lifebringer , 'Abstract Heart', Wilderland'. 2019 brings a fresh offering, an album that finds a band that have honed their sound on the road, songwriters that continue to mine the depths of their creative pairing.. Zervas Pepper's sounds have made their way across the National airwaves of both UK and Europe. Appearing as guests and in-session for flagship National Radio BBC shows such as BBC 6music's Lauren Laverne, Radclife and Maconie, Tom Robinson and many more.

Singer Kathryn Pepper says' Endless Road, Restless Nomad was written whilst touring through Europe. A life spent passing through, ..looking back, shared moments and endless roads. The album title taken from the two songs on the album that express exactly that, 'Endless Road' and 'Restless Nomad . 'There is Only Love' is a reaction to the intense period of negativity in the press and social media. Kathryn Pepper explains We wanted to bring the free-spirited feeling we get on the road into the music, touring puts us in a bubble, away from the 24 news landscape we live in back home Paul Zervas adds.. We were looking to capture a sense of late's 1960's hippie optimism, drawing from an era of music that offered hope in troubled times . Listen in for summer of love inspired 12 string electric guitars, harmony-drenched message of love. 'Gas Bottle Blue' finds the pair exploring opportunities missed, ..the roller coaster ride of chasing down your dreams while album opener 'The Gift' offers the gift of courage and the new hope.. The gift you gave to me from the seventh son, ..reckless abandon.. child on the run .

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Sheryl Crow - Threads (30/08/19)

Sheryl Crow - Threads.jpg

Artist: Sheryl Crow

Release Date: 30th August, 2019

Genre: Rock, Pop

Record Label: Big Machine Records

Tracks: 17

Website: https://sherylcrow.com

Nine-time GRAMMY Award-winner Sheryl Crow’s forthcoming album of collaborations, ‘THREADS’ is set for release on August 30th via The Valory Music Co. Sheryl comments “’Still The Good Old Days’ totally captures what Joe and I believe about getting older…that life is still fun no matter what stage of life you are at, and that living isn’t just for the young.”

Other advance tracks already setting the pace for this diverse collection include “Redemption Day” featuring Johnny Cash, “Live Wire” featuring Bonnie Raitt and Mavis Staples and “Prove You Wrong” featuring Stevie Nicks and Maren Morris.

Further elaborating on the project, Sheryl reflected, “I became inspired to record an album of musical experiences with the legacy artists who inspired me to want to be a great songwriter, musician, and producer. It is a celebration with them, and a tribute to them. Just as importantly, I wanted to work with younger artists on this record, who I believe will pick up the torch and continue to light the way for humanity with their stories and their songs for many years to come. Their music inspires me every day.”

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Morganway - Morganway (02/08/19)

  • Artist: Morganway

  • Release Date: 2nd August, 2019

  • Genre: Americana, Folk Rock

  • Record Company: Morganway / UE-Records

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website: www.morganway.co.uk

Morganway was founded in 2016 by twin brothers Callum (vocals/bass) and Kieran Morgan (lead guitar), and genre-defying keyboard player Matt Brocklehurst. Their numbers quickly grew as their sound developed, with singer SJ Mortimer, whose growling vocals were a perfect complement to the Morgan brothers gritty guitar work, and fiddle player Nicole J Terry joining the ranks. On the choice of adding another lead instrument to the band, Callum explained that, "both Kieran and Nicole have very individual playing styles, and that combination allows their instruments to play off one another in quite distinctive ways, sometimes harmonising or in total contrast." The last member to officially join was drummer Ed Bullinger, whose diverse playing adds an urgent, yet tactful texture to the fray.

Inspired by the likes of Bruce Springsteen, Fleetwood Mac and other classic guitar bands such as The Eagles, Morganway have quickly built a name for themselves on the UK live circuit. They have already received accolades from Radio 2's 'Whispering' Bob Harris, swathes of recognition from the country press, two nominations from the BCMA awards, support slots with The Shires and an Under The Apple Tree session. Peppered within their classic rock influences are aspects of country, Americana, pop and even bits of indie. Their ability to dance around genres yet keep a cohesive sound has been one of the principal reasons Morganway have such a captivating live show.

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Ben Walker - Echo (05/07/19)

  • Artist: Ben Walker

  • Release Date: 5th July 2019

  • Genre: Folk, Singer-songwriter

  • Record Label: Folkroom Records

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website: https://www.benwalkermusic.com/

Ben Walker was recently hailed as one of the best acoustic guitarists in the world right now by Total Guitar magazine. A versatile composer as well as a celebrated instrumentalist, his passion is putting old jewels in new settings. After six critically acclaimed albums and a BBC Folk Award as a duo with Josienne Clarke and more than fifty records as a producer of other artists, Ben Walker's signature style has been sought out from punk to Proms, from Rough Trade to the Royal Shakespeare Company.

If you’re after more of his virtuosity on six strings, there’s ample evidence, but Echo is also a gentle reminder of why, with Ben Walker, ‘guitarist’ can never quite say it all.

In divided times, Echo reflects centuries-old words back to us for today, reimagined in new music. Drawing on field recordings from the EFDSS library, the newly established Sussex Tradition archive and lyrics from the 18th and 19th centuries, with composition influenced by contemporary classical and electronic music and Ben’s trademark fingerstyle, Echo combines original instrumental pieces, traditional songs and poems set to music.

The album features an enviable list of guest vocalists, with Kitty Macfarlane, Laura Hockenhull, fellow Folk Award winners Bella Hardy and Hazel Askew and rising stars Thom Ashworth, Laura Ward (Hickory Signals/Bird in the Belly) and JinnWoo (Bird in the Belly) lending their voices to the project.

As Ben says: ‘Making this album has felt a bit like a treasure hunt – finding lost pieces in Cecil Sharp House, going out with a field recorder to listen properly to where I am, digging back into a place name. The more I looked, the more I found – long-lost ballads and poems written as songs but hardly ever sung. I could hear the echoes of times that felt like ours, when people were having to think again about the national identity, about inequality, and how technology was changing things. People love to hark back to the good old days but the truth is it’s never been simple. Running underneath it all, some of the words we still use for rivers and suchlike are literally thousands of years old.

Sometimes a tune says all that needs to be said, but I felt like these old words held a lot we’d recognise too. It’s been awesome and a bit humbling to have so many amazing artists and friends keen to help me bring this project to life. I can’t thank them enough. Occasionally the only singer for a song is still the old chap who sang it in a pub eighty years ago, but then a young singer picks up something three hundred years old and it hits you like a brick.

There’s a touch of hauntology to it all – the shadows of the past are always there in the future, whether we like it or not. Weirdly, I’ve found a little solace in the fact that some things come and go, and some things stay.’

Pre-order your copy below >>>

Jamestown Revival - San Isabel (14/06/19)

Jamestown Revival - San Isabel.jpg
  • Artist: Jamestown Revival

  • Release Date: 14th June. 2019

  • Genre: Americana, Folk, Country

  • Record label: Jamestown Revival Recordings

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website: https://jamestownrevival.com

After meeting as teenagers in the small town of Magnolia, TX, Clay and Chance went on to self-release their debut album, Utah, in 2014 followed by their acclaimed 2016 album, The Education of a Wandering Man. Of the Austin-based pair, Consequence of Sound declares, "...one of the country's preeminent Americana duos," while CMT praises, "...an eclectic style of alt country for hearts who live to ramble." Building a fan base through grassroots support, Jamestown Revival has toured relentlessly over the past four years, performing at iconic venues from the Ryman Auditorium to Red Rocks Amphitheater as well as countless festivals such as Coachella, Austin City Limits, Stagecoach, and more.

Highly Recommended

Pre-order your copy below >>>

High Romance - Emily Mae Winters (19/07/19)

Emily Mae Winters - High Romance.jpg

Artist: Emily Mae Winters

Release Date: 19th July, 2019

Genre: Americana, Folk, Singer-Songwriter

Record Label: Emily Mae Winters

Tracks: 11

Website:

Fast rising star on the U.K. Folk/Americana scene Emily Mae Winters has that rare quality in a singer that makes critics reach for the superlatives. Described as having a voice that "stops you in your tracks" and "arresting, enthralling, tantalising" by Americana UK, Emily combines straight-to-the-heart bittersweetness with her own unique passion and drama in performance. Emily Mae Winters' exquisite songs sit between the stormy seas of folk and country influenced by artists such as Gillian Welch, Emmylou Harris, Gretchen Peters, Alison Krauss and Sarah Jarosz. Born in England, raised on the rugged coasts of Ireland, her debut album Siren Serenade produced by BBC Radio 2 award winning producer Ben Walker was released to critical acclaim earning her a host of awards. The record received widespread U.K. radio play including plays on BBC Radio 2, as well as international Folk and Americana radio.

To quote Emily: "In one of my favourite poems by the English romantic poet John Keats: 'When I Have Fears', he looks up at the night sky as his dying day approaches and sees 'Huge cloudy symbols of a high romance'. He worries that he and his pen will not live long enough to trace them all. I've always been a 'hopeless romantic' but I think the older I get, the more the meaning of that phrase changes for me."

Please order your copy below >>>>

Kate Rusby - Philosphers, Poets and Kings (17/05/19)

  • Artist: Kate Rusby

  • Release Date: 17th May, 2019

  • Genre: Folk, Singer-Songwriter

  • Record Label: Pure Records

  • Tracks: TBA

  • Website:

This the 17th studio album from award-winning folk singer Kate Rusby. Seamlessly blending old and new across 12-tracks of traditional folk, covers and self-penned songs, the inimitable contemporary folk songstress's new solo album is a deeply personal collection which pays homage to her family and musical heritage, and home life in Yorkshire. With Philosophers, Poets and Kings, Kate Rusby raises a toast to her parents. She recalls an upbringing filled with music; whether recording songs performed during wine-fuelled family singalongs or her formative years spent watching festival performances by famed musicians.

Please order your copy below >>>>




Billie Marten - Feeding Seahorses By Hand (26/04/19)

  • Artist: Billie Marten

  • Release Date: 26th April, 2019

  • Genre: Pop, Singer-Songwriter

  • Record Label: RCA

  • Tracks: 12

  • Website:

Billie Marten follows up her superb debut in effortless style.

Despite the lengthy absence since her last record, a majority of this album was laid down on on a four track tape recorder at producer Ethan Johns's house in just two highly focused weeks of recording.

This organic approach to recording has helped Billie Marten maintain the rough-edge and natural feel of her debut - one of its most praised features - but that doesn’t mean she hasn’t expanded her sound. Where writing of ‘Blues and Yellows’ was deeply atmospheric with skeletal instrumentals, ‘Feeding Seahorses By Hand’ features some more diverse arrangements, incorporating anything from synthesisers to slide guitars and drum machines to choral vocals. Billie masterfully incorporates these new elements with such subtlety and restraint it never seems excessive and never allows them to detract from the raw and subdued nature of the album.

Order Your Copy Below >>>

Dido - Still On My Mind (08/03/19)

  • Artist: Dido

  • Release Date: 8th March, 2019

  • Genre: Pop, Singer-Songwriter

  • Record Label: BMG

  • Tracks: 12

  • Website:

Dido is back with her first new album in five years, the stunning ‘Still On My Mind’. ‘Still On My Mind’ is Dido’s 5th studio album and was written and recorded in England, a result of the fruitful and incredibly natural production/songwriting partnership with her long term collaborator and brother (faithless founder) Rollo.

‘It was simple, I only wanted to make another album if it was with him’ says Dido. ‘It was made in such an easy way, all the vocals recorded on the sofa, a lot of it recorded at home’. It follows the 2013 release of the acclaimed ‘Girl Who Got Away’.

‘Still On My Mind’ encapsulates a variety of styles and genres, ranging from her love of hip hop to her folk roots, but ultimately the entire record carries a dance and electronic music sensibility, even on the tracks with no beats. At the core, it's about the songs which capture the beautiful essence of Dido personally and emotionally.

Dido describes the making of this album as “an absolutely magical experience”. She says: “I wanted to capture the feeling I still get from listening to music, just that rush like you don’t need anything more than this”.

With sales of more than 40 million albums worldwide, Dido is one of the best- selling UK artists ever. Both ‘No Angel’ and its 2003 follow-up, ‘Life For Rent’, still rank among the UK’s biggest-selling albums of all-time.

Order your copy below >>>

Molly Tuttle - When You're Ready (05/04/19)

Artist: Molly Tuttle

Release Date: 5th April, 2019

Genre: Americana, Bluegrass, Country, Folk, Singer-Songwriter

Record Label: Compass

Tracks: 11

Website:

Compass is proud to announce the release of award-winning guitar virtuoso Molly Tuttle's debut album, 'When You're Ready'. An insightful, gifted songwriter who was crowned "Instrumentalist of the Year" at the 2018 Americana Music Awards on the strength of her EP Rise, Tuttle has broken boundaries and garnered the respect of her peers, winning fans for her incredible flat-picking guitar technique and confessional songwriting. Graced with a clear, true voice and a keen melodic sense, the 25-year-old seems poised for a long and exciting career. 'When You're Ready', produced by Ryan Hewitt (The Avett Brothers, The Lumineers) showcases her astonishing range and versatility and shows that she is more than simply an Americana artist.

Order your copy below >>>

Jade Bird - Jade Bird (19/04/19)

Artist: Jade Bird

Release Date: 19th April, 2019

Genre: Singer-songwriter

Record Label: Glassnote

Tracks: 12

Website:

Jade Bird the debut self-titled debut album via Glassnote Records. Featuring breakthrough singles ‘Lottery’, ‘Uh Huh’ & ‘Love Has All Been Done Before’.

Twisting big themes of disillusionment, divorce, cheating, sorrow into the realities of an independent-minded, modern British teenager, Jade's music transcends genre with a wealth of influence coming from everywhere, and anywhere. Classic, contemporary, and a total breath of fresh air in the current musical landscape, Jade Bird is that rare, next-generation artist who appears as clued up on the past as she is determined to learn from its lessons: in control, sometimes in your face, and in possession of gifts beyond her years.

Order your copy below >>>

Good Harvest - Far Beyond EP (17/05/19)

The brand new live EP from one of our favourite Swedish duo’s Good Harvest. This live recording features symphony orchestra Dalasinfoniettan and conductor Jonas Nydesjö. It was recorded in Kristinehallen, Falun on December 5th, 2018.

Please order your copy below >>>

Edgelarks - Feather (17/05/19)

  • Artist: Edgelarks

  • Release Date: 17th May, 2019

  • Genre: Folk, Americana, Roots

  • Record Label: Dragonfly Roots

  • Tracks: 11

  • Website: http://www.edgelarks.co.uk

In April 2018, Edgelarks (Phillip Henry and Hannah Martin) retreated to a remote cottage in Ulpha, western Cumbria. They breathed in the mountain view, banked up the fire, and took their many instruments out of their cases. Then they sat down, and wrote. Tired of the navelgazing tendencies of sad songwriting, and the terrible events frequently depicted in the folk ballad tradition, they decided to turn their attention to an oft overlooked but vital facet of our lives: hope.

Swiftly, a set of songs and tunes emerged. Stories of wonder from the natural world; tales of rejoicing and long lost returns; and simple thanksgiving for their own surroundings and place in the landscape. Informed by world rhythms, British folk roots, and the duo's penchant for making as much noise as possible with only two people, the album is an upbeat celebration, an incitement to hope. The album will launch with an accompanying tour in May 2019.

Phil and Hannah have already proved themselves one of the most captivating and innovative acoustic duo’s in the UK and their fifth studio album certainly doesn’t disappoint. ‘Feather’ comprises ten original songs and a unique take on a traditional English folk song. All the excellent trademarks of previous albums are there. Phil on dobro, lap steel and beatbox harmonica and Hannah on banjo, fiddle and her distinctive vocal. Stomp and shruti box adding to the mix. Following on from his solo project ‘True North’, Phil also add more of his vocal to the new album.

Phil and Hannah comment that ‘Feather’ was borne out of a creative block. Weary from a lot of time on the road after worldwide tour, they retreated to a remote cottage in the Cambrian Lakes.

Hannah comments “We went there in the spring and breathed in the mountain air. We turned off our phones, banked the fire, stocked the fridge and wrote. Having had no time or energy the stories started to unfurl and we found that we were writing about hope. We had been lucky enough to experience solace, rest and welcome and these were now the things we wanted to sing about. We return from Cumbria with a suitcase full of new material - songs of hills, wild rain and sunshine and the circle of all things, songs for tired hearts and troubled minds.”

The album was produced by the in-demand Mark Tucker along with Phil at The Green Room in Devon.

The opening and title track of the album ‘Feather’ is inspired by finding a lone feather in the middle of a stone circle in Dartmoor. It’s a percussive, banjo driven track showcasing the duo’s wonderful musicianship. The sublime ‘Where I Stand’ was inspired by the Ogham stones and one in particular, the Dartmoor’s Roborough Down stone which commemorates two people with the underlying theme of migration.

One of the albums stand out songs is the breezy and carefree ‘Back From Hope’ with shared vocals and great fiddle playing from Hannah. It’s a song about a city based husband and wife who love to hike in the the Peak District. The contentment continues in ‘Wanting Nothing’ with wonderful dobro and banjo interplay, while twin guitars are the foundation to the slow paced beachcombing song ‘What We Save From The Tide’. I love the poetic parallels to the flotsam and jetsam of the creative process.

In the hypnotic ‘Oyster’ the pair explore the hope that can be found in nature, with a nod to a Emily Dickinson poem. Unusually Phil is playing banjo on the track with Hannah adding her tenor guitar. Watch out for the lovely build and an Indian mantra-like close. The gentle ‘Time Away’ advocates the importance of holidays with it’s looping rhythms that build into soaring strings and then fall back into a beautiful suspended stillness.

Full of beautiful dobro and banjo interplay ‘Growing’ celebrates a small miracle and is based on a true story of a lost and found wedding ring. While another album standout ‘Wander’ is a ‘song of belonging and welcome’ and showcases Phil’s fantastic beatbox harmonica playing. It tells the story of the loss of regional accents and offers the thought that ‘home’ should be defined by individuals and the place they put down roots rather than birthplace.

The only non original song on the album is their own very atmospheric and quite haunting version of the much recorded Traditional ballad ‘Spencer The Rover’. The album closes with ‘The Longest Day’ inspired by the turning of the year and the promise of summer. It’s a dreamy, calming finale brimming with promise with the dancing fiddle mimicking the rising of the sun in the summer sky.

‘Feather’ is a collection of ‘bright songs for dark days’, whether the darkness is perceived as seasonal or global. The album is very timely and perfectly on point, showcasing the music of one of the best Folk, Americana and Roots duos in the UK.

Phil and Hannah are currently on their UK album release tour with their London date at Cecil Sharp House on May 30th. Don’t miss them live.

Order your copy below >>>

Copyright 2013-9 (C) Laurel Canyon Music

 

 

 

Powered by Squarespace